No joke.

Work today was fun. Really fun. I never thought I’d say this, but it was so fun that I stayed a few minutes after my shift because it was so darn fun and I didn’t want to leave. Needless to say, I’ve asked to be scheduled more than once or twice a week for the summer.

Here are a few things that happened that made it so great:
[1]The Russian couple. Their bread didn’t have a price sticker on it, so I asked them what type of bread it was. The wife said, “It’s artisan renaissance bread.” The husband said, “Renaissance bread for a renaissance man!” It was PRECIOUS. And then, when I came back with the price sticker, they were so happy and the husband said that he couldn’t WAIT to eat the bread.
[2]Michael. Instead of turning to the customer and saying, “Hello, how are you doing today?,” he said it to me. We couldn’t stop laughing.
[3]Last week, a guy let me go in front of him and his large order when I was buying a pint of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. He asked if the flavor was good, and I told him it was. He seemed genuinely interested. Then, today, he came back. I didn’t even recognize him at first, and he asked me how the ice cream was. I am so touched that he remembered! I told him it was great, and he said how good Ben & Jerry’s is, and then told me about how when he was in high school in California he went to school with brothers of a family who owned an ice cream company similar to Ben & Jerry’s. It’s so nice when people are so friendly! And when they remember things like that! That guy was so darn nice.
[4]The whole day, really. It went by so quickly, and it didn’t really even feel like work. Everybody was in a good mood and there were tons of new courtesy clerks and it was a wonderful community feeling. I loved it.

Other than work, I watched an episode of Golden Girls today (before work), and I knit part of the cardigan, which is so soft it’s ridiculous. It’s bulky yarn, too, so it’s going by quickly.

Leave a Reply

