“Uptown girl… You know I can’t afford to buy her pearls…

…But maybe someday when my ship comes in- She’ll understand what kind of guy I’ve been.”

I’ve been loving me some Billy Joel lately.

Gosh, that sounded stupid. I’ll say it anyway. I just adore all of his lyrics! They’re memorable and catchy and fun to sing!

Today felt like either Wednesday or Friday. Unfortunately, it was neither- it was TUESDAY, of all the days to be. Tuesday is the worst day of the week, it ALWAYS is.

When I got home from school, I was happily surprised to find that one of Augusten Burroughs’ memoirs that I ordered, Dry, had arrived.  With it were nine new college letters!  This is getting crazy!

I knew I should write my Oedipus Rex essay rough draft because it’s due Thursday and tomorrow’s Wednesday Club, so I did.  I kept getting distracted, though, so it ended up taking me more than five hours!  It’s just about perfect, though, and I do love the feeling of finishing an essay, especially reading it and thinking, “Wow, did I really write that?  It’s brilliant!”  Well, maybe that’s exaggerating, but it is nice to read something that I just spent a long long while on and know it’s not complete balderdash.

After the essay was printed out and stapled together (that’s my favorite part of writing an essay- stapling the pages together at the end), I decided I should probably get my registration sheet for next year filled out.  So, I did that.  I will be taking AP Lit & Comp, WWII, German III, German IV, Latin IV, Tech Theater, Statistics and Probability, and Parenting.  I really hope all the classes fit together so I can take them all!  (though I wouldn’t horribly mind taking one of my alternates, Film Study, instead)

Today at school I knit part of the Noro Silk Garden hat.  The yarn’s really beautiful, so anything I make with it is bound to be wondrous.  While I was knitting it in English, a girl who sits next to me, whose name is Lauren, asked me if I would make her a hat if she paid me.  I told her I would make one for free if she bought me the yarn, and then I went on to tell her where she could find some and the range of prices.  It’s kind of exciting, though of course I don’t know for sure if she really is going to buy yarn or if she’ll say, “thanks, but never mind.”  Lauren’s real nice, anyway.  I wouldn’t in a million years make her pay for a hat!  I’m thinking she’ll want a slouchy beret type of hat, but we’ll see what she says if she acts on the matter of buying some yarn.

I can’t bear to wait for Wednesday Club tomorrow!

Oh, and Emma’s camera came in the mail today! She’s thrilled to pieces.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

