But I don’t want to grow up!

Today my little brother Abram had a birthday party. His birthday’s in January (he turned ten) but his party kept getting rescheduled because of all the snow. So, it was today. He had four or five guests, meaning we outnumbered them. The party went over fine, without a hitch, but afterward I found out about the goody bags- I wasn’t getting one. Everybody is telling me that I shouldn’t be upset over this, as I am nearly seventeen. And, maybe I shouldn’t be upset over it. But I don’t want to be old! It’s not my fault I’m almost seventeen! The point is, that I wanted a goody bag and I didn’t get one. I have always loved goody bags, and even asked my mother a few months ago if she would bring me to Party City so that I could put together my own goody bag to buy. That is how much I love them. But, I didn’t get one. And now I’m kind of upset, and wishing even more so that I were a few years younger. I don’t like being a teenager. I don’t like being more than halfway through high school.

Since I didn’t get to sleep until three in the morning, I woke up somewhat late. I kept putting more and more music on my Ipod and it kept getting later and later, and before I knew it it was three in the morning. Then, when I did lay down to go to sleep, it took me less than four minutes, so I undoubtedly was tired.

I won a knitting project bag that has an owl print on it about a week ago, and it arrived today. It’s really neat and doesn’t look too complicated to make, prompting me to think about using the sewing machine my mother got off craigslist a couple of weeks ago. It has all these fancy schmancy settings on it.

I finished watching “Hope and Glory” today and it was super. The ending was strangely uplifting. I also started watching “The Count of Monte Cristo.” (I almost just typed ‘The Count of Monte Crisco’) It is horribly sad so far, quite the opposite of “Hope and Glory.” I am anxious to continue it.

I also worked for six hours today, from 3 pm to 9 pm. It wasn’t nearly as terrible as I thought it would be, and went by fairly quickly. That probably had to do with the fact that it was RIDICULOUSLY busy today, because Saturdays are always busy, plus everybody is finally un-snowed in, and also because tomorrow is Valentine’s Day. I’m not going to say, “I can’t believe tomorrow’s Valentine’s Day” because I always say that about every event. But, know that I’m thinking that.

Today I bought a tin of Altoid Smalls in Wintergreen flavor. They’re real neat not only because the tin is super tiny but also because there are A’s on the tiny blue mints, reminding me of The Scarlet Letter. Every time I read that book at night I fell asleep, but in the end I actually really really liked it. Pretty much everybody else in my English class hated it, though. I think the teacher may have as well.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

