I do not wish to know what “big cat” I am

Facebook is awash with even more requests to ignore than usual, as I managed to stay off the computer nearly all day… other than, that is, for updating twitter. For some reason that always prevails my non-computer attempts.

This morning I woke up to the bright sound of the realization that my 3:33 am alarm did not wake me up. You see, I love the feeling of waking up in the middle of the night (or morning) and then realizing that I can go back to sleep. Being able to easily get back to sleep is one of the best feelings in the world. Three has always seemed to be a cheerful number, so setting an alarm for 3:33 am seemed a logical choice. And yet, I was not temporarily awoken by the 3:33 am alarm, as it did not wake me up. I am at a loss as to why, but I will re-set it tonight and hope last night was a fluke, that my alarm’s powers have not been stolen from it and that it can still function as much.

So, I woke up this morning, and it was some time between 10 am and 11 am. I am not positively sure when it was. After a morning of basically doing nothing, I left with my mother, Zinnia, Clara, Jake, and Emma at around 12:46 pm to go on a series of missions. Er, errands, rather. Not nearly so secretive.

Firstly, we dropped Clara off at her friend’s house, whose backyard she will be “camping” in for a week. This particular friend has a humongous backyard, at least 20 acres, most likely much more. They’re going to be camping somewhere far off into these acres. However, they will be going into a pimped out barn to use the outlets, bathrooms, and other such facilities, so it won’t really be much like camping.

Anyway, so we dropped Clara off, and then the rest of us first headed off to Michael’s to buy an iron transfer pencil and fabric for the Star Trek pillow Emma’s going to be sewing me (more about that later). We stopped off by the yarn section and I bought some red yarn and robin’s egg blue yarn, and my mother and Emma got some yarn as well, and then we went to our next destination, Staples, for some label maker tape and also to pick up Jake’s laptop, I believe.

Next, we went to Panera, where I got a chipotle chicken sandwich. This was the second time I’ve had it, and it was pretty much as good as I remembered.

After lunch, we went off to a Goodwill we once went to, in a rush. I have this idealized fantasy of it having all these fabulous skirts, so I’ve sort of been dreaming of going there for a while now. As it turns out, it’s actually a Salvation Army store. That was of no matter, though. The problem was that it was closed. Apparently it’s closed on Sundays. Oh, bother. Well, that was okay, we easily found a Goodwill five and a half miles away and went to it. It didn’t have much in the way of clothing, or skirts in particular, either, but it did happen to have a wonderful selection of books and movies and all. I was so tempted to buy loads of twenty-five cent records, but, alas, I do not have a record player. However, I did buy some books and movies and a CD. The books included a Chuck Close flip book (honestly, I love flip books to death and would have bought it even if it hadn’t been Chuck Close) and a book from 1980 about the American presidents up to that time. The movies (on VHS…I kind of like VCRs a whole lot better than DVD players) included Jurassic Park, Apollo 13, and a particularly bad-tastic 1959 movie called Plan 9 From Outer Space. The box claims it to have won a contest as the worst movie in history. Also according to the box, the spaceships were made from paper plates. There are many other lovely things about it, all which make tomorrow the perfect day to watch it (tomorrow I’ll be the only person in the house as the rest of the family will be swimming or at work… I’ll have a movie marathon and it will be GREAT).

Also today, I helped Emma out with the Star Trek pillow. Despite mistakes in the coloring (I blame it on the turbulence), it is amazing. One side of it reads ‘LIVE LONG AND PROSPER’ and the other side has a federation symbol. I’m pretty sure I’ve explained this all already when it was going to be made about a month ago (maybe less).

Oh, also today, I bought a miniature Chekov action figure! It’s great.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

