“Our birthdays are feathers in the broad wing of time.” -Jean Paul Richter

So, my party was this evening. I really loved it.

The people who could make it were as follows: Daniel, Ashley, Kaitlyn, Sarah J., Lizzy, Rachel, and Alexandra.

At first we were going to play Pokemon Stadium on the Nintendo 64 but could not get it to work. Instead, we watched some YouTube videos and then we played Apples to Apples, which was as much fun as it always is, even if we didn’t even finish the second go-around of the circle.

Around 7:30 we had pasta for dinner, and then we watched maybe half an hour of Mamma Mia (after searching for it for ages, Rachel found it in the first place we looked, on the DVD shelf). That has to be one of the best feel-good movies ever.

Soon after, we ate cake. Now that it’s been revealed at the party, I can mention the message on the cake. It read:
“Happy Sixteenth Birthday Hope!
Love, Gene Wilder and Company”
Isn’t that excellent? Eating the cake, I felt like it truly was from Gene Wilder himself, as I was surrounded by good friends and a happy feeling was enveloping the room.

Next was the time for presents. I feel ridiculous naming all of the lovely gifts I received, but you must understand how marvelous and perfect and generous each gift was. I shall go in order of the names listed far above.
Daniel: a delightfully beautiful orchid that smells perfectly sweet and of course floral
Ashley: a fantastic calligraphy set– I’ve always wanted to learn calligraphy
Kaitlyn: the Zombie Survival Guide; I shall keep this with me always, just in case
Sarah J.: sixty dollars, which I feel is far too much to spend on me, but I am immensely grateful nonetheless; I haven’t decided yet what to buy, but it will definitely be something amazing
Lizzy: a packed brown bag lunch (complete with a peanut butter and strawberry jelly sandwich and an Izze!), sparklers, silly string, and a ten dollar bill; oh, and a gold dollar coin!
Rachel: an adorable little pot/container with a pulchritudinous old pocket watch inside it (I can just imagine a little old man carrying it around years and years ago, pulling it out to check the time)
Alexandra: a $25 Borders gift card– these are ALWAYS nice to have; I haven’t bought a book in quite some time

After the opening of the gifts, we lit the sparklers outside, and then we wandered around and watched more YouTube videos.

Not long from then, everybody had left except Daniel, whose mother was running later. While waiting for her to arrive, we walked around outside and then sat down, all the while talking about memories of wandering around, of horses and fearful places and being alone in the dark. Daniel’s so nice to talk to about stuff like that– around him, I suddenly remember stories related to the conversation, stories that, like he mentioned feeling, are perplexing as to whether they are memories or imagined thoughts. I found myself remembering my old house, how we would wake up to find horses in our yard from the farm next door, or how there was a great big walnut tree even though my father is allergic to walnuts. Little things like that, little things that in truth make up the whole of my existence, all of these little memories that have bonded together to create each and every one of my thoughts and feelings and brain… it’s so strange to think about all of that, but so wonderful to reminisce about that sort of thing. Daniel said that I should go over to his dad’s house one time (I think it was his dad’s?) and go exploring in the little back roads off the neighborhood. I think it sounds like a terrifically lovely and memorable event of the future.

Once Daniel left, I went back inside, where it was not nice and cool as it was outside, and where all of the normal things in life came back in a rush. There were no loud noises inside, and yet it was so much less peaceful than outside. Barefoot, walking in the cool, wet grass, it was so nice. And now, I’m on this hunk of computer and typing, typing, typing, and it’s well past midnight and I wish I were asleep and dreaming right about now.

And yet, I must get these thoughts on paper digital or otherwise, however insignificant they may be in the grand scheme of things.

And now, the above was rather pointless because I am done typing and about to go to bed.

Goodbye. Good night. Wherever you are and whoever you are, I hope you are safe and comfortable.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to ““Our birthdays are feathers in the broad wing of time.” -Jean Paul Richter”

  1. Sophie Says:

    It sounds like you had a really lovely time.

    Actually, I am incredibly jealous.
    It sound like the best party ever.

  2. supposedly Says:

    Thank you! I don’t know if it was THE best party ever, but it definitely ranks up there.

  3. Courtney Says:

    Hope, that was a marvelously, stupendously, beautifully written post. I really really loved it.

  4. supposedly Says:

    Thank you very much for such a nice comment, Courtney. It means a tremendous lot to me.

Leave a Reply

