A lot was accomplished today

in matters of television-watching. My parents were out for much of the day and I was left at home, trying to think of something to do.

Eventually, I watched the newest episodes of Lie to Me and The Office, and then I finished the Twilight Zone movie.

After that the real fun and entertainment came, as I began watching Star Trek, the original series. I have only watched one episode so far and about five minutes of another, but already I can tell I am going to become absolutely obsessed with it, even more so than I already was having only seen the movie.

The first episode, The Man Trap, involved a creature who could masquerade itself into anything, and now the second, Charlie X, involves a seventeen year old who supposedly learned English from a series of memory tapes after his planet’s inhabitants all died in an explosion or something, and this left him alone at three years old. The reason he’s so odd is that he hasn’t had any human contact since being a very young child, and so he doesn’t understand a lot of what is said. He had previously never seen a girl before, so he saw this one girl and said, very awed, “Is that a girl? Are you a girl?” Absolutely precious, this Charlie Evans is, though I can tell something is going to happen that proves him to be something more horrible than he appears. Here’s a picture of an autographed picture of him, nonetheless.

Star Trek, in a way, sort of reminds me of Doctor Who. I don’t know exactly why.

Other than television-watching today, I redid a few Biology HSA practice tests (the HSA is on Monday) and that is just about it.

I must get back to Charlie X now. I am anxious to see what happens.

(the picture speaks for itself, I hope: live long and prosper!)

Oh, and I asked my parents, but unfortunately neither of them are Trekkies. My father, in his words, “never really got into it,” while my mother doesn’t like it because, growing up, there was only one television in the house and her brother, my uncle, Ernest, (or Ernie, as most everybody calls him) always seemed to be watching it, so in a way she was forced to watch it.

That’s too bad. Isn’t it funny how things work out like that, how I love it and my parents hate it and it’s completely vice versa with Kaitlyn and her own dad?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “A lot was accomplished today”

  1. Laura Says:

    I like Star Trek, but I have to admit that I’m more of a Next Generation person.

  2. supposedly Says:

    Hmm. I don’t know yet which I prefer, as I’ll watch the Next Generation once I’m done with the original series, which could take quite a while…

  3. allysontrapezoid Says:

    Charlie X sort of reminds me of Kyle XY, how he’s all confused and hasn’t had much human contact. I loved that show.

Leave a Reply

