BEDA Installment Nineteen: Earlier than Usual

Last night and this morning was the sleepover, the Alfred Hitchcock sleepover. It was great. Rachel arrived sometime between 6:45 and 7:00, and soon after we began the movie-watching.

First off, we watched The Wicker Man, the 2006 version with Nicolas Cage. Rachel has been telling me how ridiculous it is, and so we thought we’d start the evening off with some humor. As I just found out, it turns out there’s a 1973 cult classic Wicker Man, which is apparently much better. We may have to see that some time and compare it to Cage’s hilarious performance. Did you know that Nicolas Cage’s middle name is “Kim?”

Secondly, we ate dinner (hot dogs, just like at “Big Guys” [what Rachel’s mother once called Five Guys]) and drank soda, along with the second movie, Suspicion, which was on PBS last night, beginning at 9 pm. It was excellent, not overdone in the least, unlike so many films of today.

After that, we watched Psycho, which was also amazingly eerie. There was something about it that was reminiscent of something else, but I’m still not sure what it was.

Finally, we watched an hour, maybe, of Close Encounters of the Third Kind, and it was after ten or so minutes that I realized I’ve seen it before: I never knew what it was called, but I saw it before, a while ago, all but the first bit of it. Rachel and I fell asleep while watching this.

In the morning, we first woke up at 8 am, then went back to sleep and woke up at 9:30. At this time, we woke up for good and had chocolate chip muffins for breakfast, then played Mario Kart and Pokemon Stadium, both Nintendo 64-style.

Then Rachel left, nearly there is where you see me now. Once I finish this, I will be watching two taped episodes of Twilight Zone and then hopefully some Doctor Who, coupled with beginning to knit the convertible fingerless gloves.

OH MY GOODNESS, I just found this edited version of The Wicker Man, turning it into a trailer for a comedy version of it. If you’ve seen it, you HAVE TO SEE THIS. It is possibly the funniest thing I’ve ever seen.

And goodbyes to all of you, now! Happy Sunday, and good luck in any future endeavors!

Question Nineteen: What’s your favorite thing about Gene Wilder?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “BEDA Installment Nineteen: Earlier than Usual”

  1. Fantastically Fraught Says:

    THE WICKER MAN WAS RIDICULOUS. I SAW IT WITH MY MOM. UGH.

  2. thiscrackeddarkness Says:

    I can’t handle scary movies at all. My imagination gets me every time. I cowered when I saw the shower scene from Psycho. *Shudder*

  3. supposedly Says:

    I can’t handle watching scary movies by myself, but when watching with others, for me, the fear is part of the fun.

  4. scuttlebanshee Says:

    AHAHA! That’s funny, that his middle name is Kim. When you talk to him, you can be like “Nick’em, Cage!”

    Hahaha.

    Ha.

    I wish I could watch the trailer, but alas, my headseat is broken.

    Hmm…my favorite thing about Gene Wilder…this will be hard. I WOULD tell you ALL of the things I love about him, but that’d be pointless; seeing as I’ve already told you several times.

Leave a Reply

