BEDA Installment Thirteen: Is that another one of those Nicholas Cage movies?

Today I went to the movies with my family, and, no, we didn’t see Knowing, with Nicholas Cage, also known as “Knowing exactly what’s going to happen even with a completely different plot.”  As I’ve spoken about with Rachel on numerous occasions, all of Nicholas Cage’s movies are exactly alike, most of all his various characters.  They’re all sulky, with a dry, sarcastic in a trying-to-be-lovable sort of humor.

So, what did I actually see?  Monsters vs. Aliens, of course.  In 3D!!!  I must admit, it was awesome.  Afterwards, we had Chipotle, and I was wearing my Mountain Goats shirt and thus reminded of the concert, the whiz that it was.

My mother won a contest online for her choice of handmade bookmark.  They’re all shaped like mice of different colors, and she said I could choose one for myself since she doesn’t read all that often.  I chose a little blue one with a sparkle snowflake thing on its ear.

I went in the woods behind my house today, for a brief moment, and there was a tree in the woods that was twisted.  As in, twisted completely around itself, but perfectly uniform, like a humongous wooden candy cane.  Here’s a blurry picture of it, for your viewing pleasure:

I just now discovered this website: http://www.worldwidewords.org/index.htm
and I must say it is great. After this, I’ll be checking it out thoroughly, or as thoroughly as I can check out a website which seems to be endlessly full of scrumptious words and articles about words and everything relating to obscure words. Ooh, and the guy who made this website is the guy who wrote two books on my birthday list of books that I made two or three years ago! A small world it is.

Earlier today, before the movies, I watched three taped episodes of the Twilight Zone. My favorite was one which is about a pilot who flies into the future, or 1959, from the past, or 1917. The guy who played the pilot was fantastic. He sounded so kind and sweet. He talked about how he was afraid of the German pilots and dreaded flying with the royal flying corps for that very reason, and he had these little curls in front. Here’s a picture. He’s the one on the right:

Isn’t he adorable?

“Witness Flight Lieutenant William Terrance Decker, Royal Flying Corps, returning from a patrol somewhere over France. The year is 1917. The problem is that the Lieutenant is hopelessly lost. Lieutenant Decker will soon discover that a man can be lost not only in terms of maps and miles, but also in time. And time, in this case, can be measured in eternities.”

Apparently, the actor who played him is a British bloke named Kenneth Haigh.

Well, Clara and Emma are watching Hairspray, which I’ve attempted to see but not actually done so a number of times, and I think it’s time for me to really and truly watch it.

Schools starts back again tomorrow. I’m pretty sure I’m glad about that.

Question Thirteen: What is one of the first things you remember from when you were young?

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “BEDA Installment Thirteen: Is that another one of those Nicholas Cage movies?”

  1. scuttlebanshee Says:

    Nicholas Cage is ridiculous. He plays the same character in every single movie he’s in. And the whole deadpan humor thing he’s attempting to do gets old after awhile. And I bet he smells bad, too.

    I remember that Twilight Zone episode! That’s a good one.

    Are you talking about the 1980 version of Hairspray that ISN’T a musical? If so, then good movie, good sir. If not, then…well…I’m not sure if there’s anything redeeming about it, sorry.

    One of my earliest childhood memories was when I was about three or four, and I was still living in Texas. I remember thinking that there was a little man living in the heating vent above my bed because I heard noises, and I would try to talk to him. I also remember dressing up as a bumblebee for Halloween, and taking a nap when I was playing mini-golf.

  2. supposedly Says:

    Alas, it is the newer version. If it’s any consolation, though, I saw the original one last year and it was grand, much better than the newer one is so far.

  3. Courtney Says:

    My earliest memory is probably sliding down a slide at a school playground, and then some kid coming up to me and throwing a shovel at my face (like a plastic sandbox shovel, not a big hunky metal one) I’m not sure if this actually happened, or If i just imagined it.

Leave a Reply

