BEDA Installment Nine: How about we skip the titles in question form?

It seriously took me over half an hour to come up with a title, probably longer than it’s going to take me to write this, so I’m going to stop spending forever to think of questionable titles, regardless of the endless amusement I’m sure they give.

So, the party– it was yesterday to today, as you already know.  I got there about a half hour before Rachel and Eleanor and I watched a little bit of a movie called Awakenings while we were waiting.  It actually seemed to be really good, though we never finished watching it, so who knows.  Once Rachel arrived, it was 8:45 pm, maybe, and after watching a little bit more of Awakenings we started off the Gene Wilder party.  First, we watched Young Frankenstein, then The Producers, next Blazing Saddles, and finally Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory, which we all fell asleep while watching, me even before Gene Wilder came on, unfortunately. 

This morning, we woke up, of course, at approximately 8:15 am.  After some eggs, a game of Stones and Sand that didn’t work, and speaking about re-watching Willy Wonka but never doing so, we went into Eleanor’s backyard and off into a magical world.  There were two bridges, a large one and a small one (his younger brother), flowers all over the place (mostly lovely variations of daffodils), a gnome, lots of bamboo, a beautfiul aqua lake with a creaky dock with a fake duck and a fake pelican on it, cartoon-looking cows that Rachel and I were scared of, muddy deer tracks, two very dirty pigs that had red eyes, and loads of other things, so many I’m sure I can’t even remember them all.  It truly was like something from a book, a movie, so scenic, so picture-esque, and yet to mysterious, so vast.  We have plans to camp out there when the weather becomes warmer, right between the row of trees and the big bunches of sturdy, smooth bamboo.

Once the pick-up time had almost arrived, we decided we wanted some  more time, so we extended the sleepover to Rachel’s house.  We played hide-and-seek there, went for a brief walk, ate lunch, and also played a long game of Pretend in which somebody was trying to find us and kill us.  I will not divulge his name, but he liked the color red and tried to convert all birds to this color, other than cardinals, already his cohorts.  Once this game was very nearly over, I had to leave, but not before we gave the killer a new name, Truckman.

What?  Who posted that picture from manbabies.com?  Oh, I must admit, it was me.

How could one not love Gene Wilder, though, honest to goodness?

 

 

Amazing, that man is.

Well, I’m going to do something else now.  Being outside and doing so many wonderfully simplistic things today and yesterday is making me itch to be off of the computer and on to something more interesting.

Toodleoo, goodbye to you, I hope you have a day not blue.

Question Nine: What are some of your favorite simple pleasures?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “BEDA Installment Nine: How about we skip the titles in question form?”

  1. Daniel Says:

    I kind of miss Eleanor’s backyard. I quite liked it myself for similar reasons.

    Oh, and as for your question, I can’t really think of any answers, although it seems as though you’ve found them and indulge on them frequently. I wish I could learn to do that.

  2. Laura Says:

    While I love Gene Wilder/Willy Wonka’s purple coat and flowered vest, I would have to say that his bow tie really pulls the outfit together.

  3. supposedly Says:

    Daniel: Thanks. I try to, but oftentimes it’s hard, when the often more seemingly instantly gratifying technology is staring one straight in the face.

    Laura: And I would have to agree with you.

  4. scuttlebanshee Says:

    This is Rachel(Sears), by the way. I just started a blog, hence the username.

    How could there possibly be anyone who dislikes Gene Wilder? What is there not to like? Even his flaws are endearing.

    As for your question…simple pleasures…

    I love finishing a book. Even if it’s a terrible book that I hated, the fact that I finished it makes me happy.

    I love rainy days.

    I love watching the sun rise. I especially love how throughout most of the sunrise it’s silent, until all the animals all seem to wake up at once; and they all start making noises. I like the sound that the Mourning Dove makes(is it mourning or morning? Both could work, since the noise it makes sounds like it’s MOURNING, and the bird usually comes out in the MORNING…I really shouldn’t let this bother me…)

    I love crying during a movie or book. That may sound odd, but for some reason it’s uplifting to cry for a work of fiction. Or nonfiction, for that matter.

    I love it when an animal or person is naturally drawn to you.

  5. supposedly Says:

    Lovely list of simple pleasures. I can relate to many if not all of those, especially the satisfaction of finishing a book. There’s a sudden sense of finality, as if, for one millisecond, all is right with the world. It’s brilliant.

    As for your blog, fantastic! What’s the URL?

  6. Jorge Roman Says:

    I sure don’t like Gene Wilder, I hate him no more than I hate Eva Mendez & Robert Downey Jr. But as for the rest of the things you enjoy, I enjoy the majority of them 🙂

  7. Jorge Roman Says:

    Woops, sorry, I forgot to answer your question. I enjoy artially quite many things; drawing, movies, horror, video games, manga, fictional romance books……..& possibly many more I can’t think about right now XD

Leave a Reply

