BEDA Installment Five: Doesn’t it feel great to snag a good deal?

For awhile now, especially lately, I have become particularly obsessed with finding “deals.” By this I mean scouring websites, ads, and coupon booklets, all looking for so-and-so percentage off so-and-so, making the item practically free, and the like. I don’t know, there’s just something about having something more or less thrown at you that makes it all the more exciting. Today, for instance, my father and I went grocery shopping. At the first stop, Safeway, we ended up saving almost fifty percent. That was a hundred dollars off our original order. The feeling was sublime.

Other than going grocery shopping, I don’t think I did much of anything today. Although, I did clean the bathroom– that’s always fun.

I watched the very beginning (as in one or two minutes, even before the announcer guy announces the character’s story) of a Tivo’d (I despise that word, if you could call it such) episode of Twilight Zone. Right now it’s at a silent film sort of part, and the guy is walking around a marketplace and he notices the price of things. He sees sirloin steak for seventeen cents a pound and goes crazy, shaking his head and whatnot. Then the screen flashes and says, “What do they think we are… millionaires?” with the ellipsis and everything. Next he sees a ladie’s hat, as it is labelled, for $1.95, and of course goes wild for that as well, and the screen flashes a sign that reads, “censored.” It’s very amusing to me, obviously.

Now we’re making milkshakes with my sister Emma’s slushie machine and I’m typing away as I wait.

My grandmother keeps adding me as a friend on facebook and I keep ignoring the request. I’m not horribly mean or anything, but allegedly my older brother accepted her request and now his friends keep getting bombarded with warnings to watch their language. I don’t feel like monitoring these “helpful comments.”

Many times before, I have wished there were some way I could get my long hair to stick straight up. It would be hilarious, and so much fun walking down the street with super-tall hair.

I’m thinking of going to the library tomorrow since we don’t have school on Wednesday for the usual Wednesday Club. Hopefully someone else will end up coming along.

I didn’t have much luck with the spinning newspaper into yarn thin last night. It kept tearing, which I guess is to be expected when you’re frantically twisting paper into something manageable.

Sorry to disappoint you all (hardy har har) but, although this post is not yet six hundred words, I am going to end it now. I have run out of things to speak of and am going to do something else now, perhaps involving buttons and twine and perhaps not. (most likely the latter)

Question Five: If you were to dye your hair, what color would it be?

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “BEDA Installment Five: Doesn’t it feel great to snag a good deal?”

  1. Daniel Says:

    My hair would probably be black & white, mostly to go with my glasses, haha.
    I had a craving for a milkshake today actually! It was from watching the Travel Channel while struggling with iTunes, and they were talking about restaurants or something.

Leave a Reply

