BEDA Installment Two: How hard could it possibly be to find an interesting photograher?

For Photography class, we’re doing an in-class/out-of-class research project on a famous photographer of our choice.  I figured it wouldn’t be hard to find one I want to learn about; after all, there are trillions and billions of photographers out there, so there’s bound to be at least a hundred that I’m fond of, right?  Wrong.  I spent ages in class today, searching the web for a photographer whose work I admire/some of whose work is school-appropriate.  After many clicks, I found Elliot Erwitt, whose pictures made me want to smile.  That’s as good a reason as any, is it not?  He takes pictures of stuff like little boys riding on the backs of bikes

…young couples kissing in mirrors

…and people leaping in the rain.

He also has a fondness for dogs.  How could I not love him?

Well, after rushing downstairs back to the Photography classroom, my teacher informed me that somebody else was already doing a project on Erwitt.  What a bummer.  So, I rushed all the way back upstairs to the library and spent many minutes more searching for another photographer that so diligently captured my attention.  Am I the only one who decides that a now unattainable thing would have been absolutely perfect in every way?

Eventually, after oodles of clicks more, I found a second photographer, one that I am SERIOUSLY and DESPARATELY in love with, much more than with Elliot.  His name?  Gregory Crewdson.  His forté?  Surrealism photography, and how amazing surrealist pictures of American culture can be.  Ahem, for example:

Honestly and truly, this guy is AMAZING.  I get this mad burst of feelings when I look at his photos, all at once relieving, eerie, hopeless, and exciting.  It’s almost like they’re scenes from a bizarre old  movie, Eraserhead, perhaps, or Clockwork Orange.  It’s crazy talk.

After reading a couple of notches of Death Be Not Proud, I realized why it seemed to familiar and modern classic-like.  I checked it out last year, or perhaps the year before, but merely skimmed through it, not interested in it at the time.  Today, I finished reading Wolf at the Table, which was the best of the best, and maybe a third of Death Be Not Proud (not “Death Not Be Proud,” as I called it yesterday), which is thus far lovely but heartbreaking.  My mother said that she was told to read it in tenth grade for school (there are even Spark Notes on it– I checked), she thinks, but she never did.  I wonder why.

As for possibly more cheersome news, tomorrow is Friday, and what a joyous weekend it shall be!  I have no plans to do anything, but surely something will come up to tickle my fancy.  No, I am not joshing you.  I did indeed just say “tickle my fancy.” 

I was just reminded of how many books are on The List, the one I always meant to write down but never did, that I hope to read in the course of my lifetime.  Included on The List are many books that have movies based on them, movies I want to see but feel obligated to read the book before doing so.

One movie I did see before reading the book is The Golden Compass, and I have since felt awful about that.  It’s very nearly impossible to only see book-based movies after reading the book, these days, as a large percentage of new and newish movies are based on books.  It seems that the movie-making world is running out of creativity these days. 

I am very close to having written six hundred words, and so I leave you now, but not without a quote, as well as the obligatory question.

Quote:

“China is a big country, inhabited by many Chinese.”
 
-Former French President Charles De Gaulle

Question Two: What are a few books you plan on reading in the future?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “BEDA Installment Two: How hard could it possibly be to find an interesting photograher?”

  1. Daniel Says:

    THESE PICTURES ARE FANTASTIC. 😀

  2. supposedly Says:

    Oh, I know, aren’t they just?

  3. Courtney Says:

    These pictures just made my day. I love the one with the car all open on the side of the road. It makes me wonder who left it in such a rush…

  4. Rachel Says:

    Those pictures are lovely. One that I might also recommend to you is Drive-By Shootings by David Bradford. The title caught my eye in the library, and I really enjoyed the stark realism of his photographs. It’s this guy who drove a taxi cab, and took pictures of New York City out the window, hence the name “Drive-By Shootings”.

  5. supposedly Says:

    I just now went to Bradford’s website and took a look, and you’re absolutely right– I especially like the ones with people in them, as it’s always interesting to see people’s pictures when they didn’t know they were being photographed.

  6. Everest Trekking Says:

    You have to put in a retweet button for your blog. I just bookmarked this blog post, however I had to complete it manually. Just my $.02 🙂

Leave a Reply

