Something Prevails

I was thinking, as humans often do, and I thought I’d post something here, obviously, but I also thunk another thought.  I decided to title the post something relating to prevailing at something, but I could not think of anything to prevail at, also obviously, hence the ‘something’ prevails.

Anyway, enough longwindedness.

Today, along with being Laura’s birthday as well as Gatsby’s birthday, it was the celebration of my cousin Vita’s birthday.  She turns two sometime this month.

Other than that, other than that, here are a few other things of note:

[]I’m knitting a pair of seed stitch arm warmers.  They are cozy so far, as I hope the finished products will be.

[]I am participating in Blog Every Day April, as per Maureen Johnson’s “event,” I suppose one could call it.  In this “event,” one blogs every day in April, obviously (the count is up to three, I believe– how many times more to you think I’ll use the word ‘obviously?’ [that’s four])

[]Only a single month until my birthday!  I don’t know whether to be happy or sad about that, as it means both I am both a year away from my birth and a year closer to death.

[]My mother moved a lot during her childhood.  The longest she lived in for one place was from 5th grade through 11th grade, with the other houses being lived at for one year.  My aunt’s, Vita’s mother’s, new house is close to two of my mother’s childhood houses.  As we passed by them and drove through the neighborhood, my mother told me stories of her childhood, of playing all day at the creek.  She pointed out the names of everybody who lived in each house as we passed by them, and I found myself desperately wishing two things: a)that I could live in a neighborhood, a place where I have friends whose houses I can walk or bike to and where I actually do something rather than stay inside all day, bored out of my mind, or spending time on a dumb machine, a computer, or a television, or something.  I wish I lived in a neighborhood, or something like so… this kind of ties in with part B, anyway.  and

b)that I lived in an earlier decade, one where things were simpler and so much less technological.  I know I ought not be hypocritical, as I use so much new technology each and every day, and in fact am using newish technology right this very moment, but seriously–childhood memories my parents have are so fantastic, so sweet and nice and  kidlike, meanwhile I can’t remember much of anything about my childhood, and nearly all I do recall involves some sort of technology in one way or another.

[]Also, I wish I were more, I dunno, proactive, I guess you could call it, in the way that I planned things to do with friends, just hanging out and whatnot, once again, not just staying inside all day blurring the days into one giant blob of indifference.  I hope to improve on this in the future.

[]Finally, I have nothing more to say currently, as I am getting into Resolution mode, and that’s no fun to be at.

Good night all, happy spring evening.  I hope your Mondays tomorrow are un-Monday-like.

I’ll see you all soon, in a way, what with Blog Every Day April beginning shortly.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Something Prevails”

  1. Courtney Says:

    I totally get what you’re saying about wanting to live in a neighborhood(I know I live in more of a neighborhood than you do, but only old people and little kids live here) and about living in another time. My mom always talks about her childhood and playing with kids in her neighborhood and stuff like that, while my childhood was pretty much fail city.

    Anyways. so yea. That is all

Leave a Reply

