It seems like today was busy, but really it was not

Today was the Model UN Orientation. It was okay, I guess, though nobody (at least, none of my good friends who are in that club) was there. It was boring, but that was to be expected. They did something dumb for deciding who would pick their countries first, something like, “Whoever is wearing shoes made of leather gets to go in the line first,” and I do not even have shoes made of leather so of course I did not go in line. Then, though, pretty much everybody else went in the line regardless of not having leather shoes, everyone except me and about five or six other people. I ended up nearly at the end of the line and all of my six country choices were taken except for Malta, which I never really wanted anyway. I ended up with Swaziland, which, after research, I found out is in Northern Africa. The current king has thirteen wives and it has the highest rate of HIV/AIDS in the entire world. The life expectancy is only a little above thirty years. This country seems like the saddest one in the world.

After the orientation, we went right over to my crazier grandmother’s house for a brunch to celebrate all of the nearby birthdays. It was there that my grandmother announced that she will not be celebrating Christmas this year. Boo to that. I do not like this financial crisis and really hope the next president improves it.

We got a season of A Haunting from Netflix. I am ready to have nightmares.

Speaking of which, I am off to watch an episode now. Good night and farewell.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “It seems like today was busy, but really it was not”

  1. wallie Says:

    Oh how cool that you Swaziland I would have been happy because it’s my favorite country in Africa because of its name.

  2. supposedly Says:

    Yeah, the name sounds neat but the living standards seem to be some of the worst in the world.

Leave a Reply

