What I have been up to

I figured, what with the summer going by in the blink of an eye, it was time to post something.  It has been awhile.

So, what have I been up to this summer?  Well, a lot of nothing, but I did do a few things… enough to make me think this summer has been a success, at least.

I have been doing, more than anything else other than the basic things like breathing (which I do quite often), sleeping (I have been going to sleep around 11 pm each night and waking up sometime between 9 and 10 am each morning), eating, and etc. etc. etc., a lot of knitting.  And reading.  Never mind, not so much reading- I have been procrastinating a lot about that and still have four or five books to read before Wednesday.

So, what have I been knitting?

Well, for starters I am about 75% done with my first pair of socks, which is extremely exciting.  Pictures of the first one are below.

For some reason, now that I think about it, my foot looks really warped in this picture… in reality, it does not look that crazy.  The sock fits like a dream.

I got the yarn from my mother after babysitting Lydia.  She never used it and it had been lying in her stash, looking lovely and unused, for a while.

Another thing I made was a “Turkish String Bag,” which I will hopefully end up using to carry library books.  I made it yesterday for the ‘Ravelympics,’ which is the knitting olympics for a knitting forum I am part of.  I am currently making a second one and am about 15% finished.  Here is what the first one looks like with six books in it (including a paperback dictionary and my newly read hardback copy of Breaking Dawn [which is something else I did this summer- read that book and many others]):


Tonight was movie night and we watched Penelope.  We also rented The Spiderwick Chronicles, which I intend to watch tomorrow.  That, and Vantage Point, which I am not sure I will like… it seems sort of action thriller-y, and I am not a tremendous fan of those types of movies.

Speaking of movies, I have been watching loads this summer.  Mostly on Netflix Instant Watch or whatever it is called… I watched many documentaries, the first three seasons of The Office (I love it), and intend to watch Doctor Who which I have never seen even a minute of.

Oh yeah, and I plan to knit a Ravenclaw scarf with this yarn:

before the sixth movie release (I AM SO EXCITED).

Well, my mother is in an awful mood after Emma dropped and damaged her 500 dollar camera (boy do I wish I could spend that kind of money on lots of things I have been wishing for…) and therefore making us get in bed by three minutes from now or face deathly consequences.

Farewell.

Oh yeah, and I made a skirt out of an old sheet!  It is kind of shown in the bag picture.  Better pictures may follow in days.

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “What I have been up to”

  1. Laura Says:

    Awesome knitting skillz, Hope. I’m working on my first ever hat, and it’s pretty exciting. It’s going to be bright red. I’ll have to take pictures when I’m finished with it.

    The Office and Doctor Who are both really awesome. I hope you enjoy Doctor Who!

  2. supposedly Says:

    Awesome! Hats are fantastic. I cannot wait to see it.

    I hope I enjoy it too.

Leave a Reply

