Conversation between Somebody and a visitor who does not really care as well as things from my real life

“And where is that charming cat of yours?”

“You mean Duke?  He killed a man.  Now he is on the run with a fifty-thousand reward to whoever finds him.”

“Oh, how nice!  You always have been so good with your hands.”

A swirling vortex envelops the both of them.  “That’s what she said,” a voice mutters against their better reasoning.

Today I did a lot of reading, much like the day before yesterday or whenever it was.  Here is what I read, and then some other things-

[1]Edgar Allan Poe: Poems and Poetics*, edited by Richard Wilbur; this, being composed of selected poems of Poe, it was of course destined to be an excellent book.  And it was, though I think I would have enjoyed it more had I not been reading for so long and hungry for dinner.  I will have to read it again some time to appreciate all of Poe’s qualities.

[2]I finished Between the Bridge and the River* (I got the title right yesterday) by Craig Ferguson.  It was a good book, granted, but, as the back cover claims, this book is, “…guarenteed to offend- regardless of religion, race, national origin, sexual orientation, or profession.”  This book was ‘hysterically funny’ as mentioned, but really offensive as well.  It did not really offend me, seeing as I am never really offended by anything, but besides others owning this same characteristic I think it would offend everybody else if they read it.

[3]The Way We Talk Now* by Geoffrey Nunberg; this book is composed of essays that are ‘commentaries on language and culture.’  I thoroughly enjoyed this, seeing as I am interested in things people have to say on both of those manners.  His comments on slang’s changing part of speech throughout the decades was my favorite.

Other things I did-

[1]I knit for a bit (rhyme!) on my scarf.  It is four feet now, and as I mentioned yesterday I want it to be six feet in the end.  I am hoping the third time really is a charm, and tonight’s re-do re-do knitting sleepover will actually work for the better.

[2]I was (and still am) watching Invasion of the Body Snatchers.  I am only a few minutes in, but so far it is funny in a creepy sort of way.  For some reason, movies of the past decades always seem creepier to me.  There is just something about the fact that a movie was made before I was born that creeps me out.

[3]I became excited for tomorrow’s Wednesday Club.  It should be riveting.  I have five books to return, providing I do not make my way through any more tonight, which I hope to do on top of the knitting and movie-watching and all.

[4]I played games with Lydia, mainly advanced peekaboo.  The ‘are you still there behind the tree?’ edition is tremendously exciting to Lydia.

[5]I woke up to the sounds of Abie and Benny punching the floor repeatedly, for some unknown reason.  I complained about this but my mother ended up lecturing me for sleeping in the sunroom/playroom and then getting upset when people played in it, so I stopped doing so.  The complaining, I mean.  I already mentioned the knitting sleepover re-do re-do of tonight.

[6]Speaking of sleeping in the sun room, it gives me the strangest dreams.  The one I remember from last night involved mango slushies, of which I have been craving for the longest time.  There was something with people turning into zombies or something, too, so it all balanced out to a neutral dream in the end.

I am leaving now, to do the things I mentioned; [a]read, [b]watch the rest of Invasion of the Body Snatchers, and [c]knit.  Farewell.

P.S. Apparently, we have internet again but are now going on Netscape instead of Internet Explorer.  So, hooray, I can for sure post on here now instead of relying on Lurker’s laptop!

*Also apparently, for some reason, the underlining is not working properly… so that is the reason for the lack of underlines in this post on the book titles.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

