Surprise, surprise, I actually had plans today!

I woke up at about 7:30 am and then did not much of anything for a while. Valerie’s mother picked me up at around 10 am, and we (along with Sarah [and Valerie, of course]) drove over to the middle school to give cards to Ms. Olow for her retirement. For some reason, they would not let us inside the school to see her. Well, they let us in, but then the main office woman told us that there was a new rule and no high schoolers were allowed in the school on the last day and that if we wanted to see Ms. Olow we would have to come back after 3 pm, when the students would not be there. This, of course, was ridiculous. Valerie’s mom had already left and had forgotten her cellphone at home, so we called her dad, who then called the house phone once her mom got home and she then came to pick us up. When she arrived, we told her what had happened and she was really angry. She said that she is going to write an email to the school or something. She went inside and spoke to the main office woman, who revised the time we could come to 1 pm, when school would actually end (being a half day and all). There was really no use in driving everybody home only to drive back out again at 1 pm, so we drove over to Sarah’s house and stayed there and played Mario Kart on Nintendo Wii as well as made dinosaur-shaped peanut butter and jelly sandwiches until it was time to go back to the school, upon which Valerie’s mom came back to bring us. We arrived just as the first buses were leaving. The teachers were blowing bubbles and the kids were actually excited about summer, unlike the high schoolers on their last day. Ms. Olow was very happy to see us, commenting on how much taller we were and how we were still her favorite class. It was marvelous. Then we left and Valerie’s mother brought each of us home.

Once I got home, there was about an hour or an hour-and-a-half until the next activity: Courtney’s birthday surprise party. I did not mention this on here in case she read it, in case you were wondering. How the party worked was this- her mother arranged it. She told Courtney she had to run a few errands, and then picked us up and drove us to her house where Courtney came upstairs and gave her her presents and said surprise. I got her an Urban Myth game and some fun size twix bars, Valerie, got her a CD (I think it may have been of a band called “The Cat Empire”) and Laura got her a book whose title has slipped my mind.

We played go fish, war, and the beginning of a game called BS. Then we went to the movies.

We were originally going to be seeing The Happening, but my parents will not allow me to see R-rated movies (I was quite upset about this for a while, but now that I have long since calmed down I see the validity of their complaints) so we did not. Nobody knew what to see, so Valerie suggested we see something like, Don’t Mess With the Zohan. Yeah, I think that is what it was called. Unfortunately, that was a bad choice. The movie was so ridiculously bad that it was unbelievable. Nearly every line made me cringe, what with all of the stereotypes, clichPs, and terrible jokes (as Laura put it so eloquently) within it. There was so much… ugh-ness. It was so bad that it actually ended up being sort of funny.

We got a huge thing of popcorn because Courtney wanted to have the bucket. Apparently, she had never had a bucket of her own before. Valerie and I got cherry icees and Laura and Courtney got bottles of water as well.

After the horrible movie, we (Courtney mainly, considering she was first asked to decide) chose to go to a Chinese food place for dinner. There, we got chicken fried rice, steamed rice, sweet and sour pork, and General Tso’s chicken. All were delicious.

All in all, a magnificent day. One with actual things to do, no less.

Anyway, good night good night good night! I am going to finish The Nazi Officer’s Wife and then some other thing/s.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Surprise, surprise, I actually had plans today!”

  1. sara Says:

    Hi!
    I found this blog when I googled my name, Sara Olow. I live in Sweden and here all people named Olow are my relatives. You can imagine my surprise when I read this blogpost 🙂 I was intrigued! If you feel like it, I would be really happy if you’d comment back on my blog (http://www.sarasstuga.blogspot.com) and tell me; who is this Ms. Olow?

    kindest regards
    Sara

  2. supposedly Says:

    Hello, Sara! Unfortunately, I do not have an account on the website of your blog. However, I will tell you this- The Ms. Olow I was speaking of is Fran Olow, a middle school math teacher around where I live, who retired at the end of the school year after many years of teaching.

  3. bahhh Says:

    FRAN!!!!!!!!! FOLOW! i love folow!

  4. supposedly Says:

    What was that?

Leave a Reply

