There are seven lucky pennies in my pocket.

It is Lucky Penny Day and, to celebrate it, I carried around pennies for good luck and handed out bunches of them to my friends. There were tons of people absent today, I guess because of the combination of Prom Night and the upcoming Memorial Day Weekend. Once I had handed out lots of lucky pennies, I found that there were exactly seven in my pocket. How lucky is that?

At lunch today, it was “Free Warm Cookie With Lunch Day.” Amazingly, the cookies were actually warm. That was a first.

Also during lunch, near the end, this woman (or maybe just older student) was going around to tables handing out pieces of saltwater taffy. I was thinking, “Hey, that is pretty nice of her,” and I ate one, as the remainder of the people at my table did (other than Zach). It was only after I began chewing it that I realized what I was taught as a kid- never take candy from strangers. It could have been poisoned or something. It was then that I thought that I may die. I actually became extremely paranoid.

Today in English I made up a BCR I missed on Wednesday as well as received the new vocabulary list. The BCR was rather simple, but I was shaking the whole time because of the paranoia about the “poisoned” taffy. I started feeling woozy, but I am pretty positive that I was merely subconsciously conjuring up a sickness in my mind, because I felt fine once I forgot about the taffy fiasco. I suspect that I only lived because of the seven lucky pennies in my pocket, most of which were from my birth year, which is triple the luck. We also watched part of the movie “Matewan” during that class as well, seeing as there were so many people absent, as I mentioned. It was okay, I think, though I just did my vocabulary sheet for most of the time.

Wow, my sister (Clara) really needs to improve her judgment. My mother is picking her up from a friend’s house right now, where she went knowing there would be no supervision. She was caught because she left her cellphone at home and the friend’s slightly older sister called it to see whether she was locked out of the house. Too bad for Clara, because she is now in major trouble. Perhaps that is the reason she got in trouble about a month ago- she refused to tell me why, but she lost a few privileges for a whole month.

Archie is even cuter than she was when I last saw her this morning. She is also calming down- yesterday she did not want to be held very much, or at least peeped a lot when I held her, but I held her just now and she fell right asleep in my hands. Adorable!

As I said, the holiday is Lucky Penny Day. The number of the day is eighteen, and the word of the day is nonce (a noun defined as ‘the present occasion’). Wallie actually remembered to find a color, and it is a lovely shade of yellow called ‘saffron.’

Oh yeah, guess what? Stumped? I actually have plans for this weekend! I never have anything planned, but my friend Alexandra invited me to a sleepover party at her house tonight. Because I rarely go anywhere, my parents are letting me go! How exciting- I have not been to a sleepover in quite a while.

Only a few more weeks of school left. A few more weeks of freshman year. That is crazy ridiculous. I still find it incredulous (hooray, I used one of my new vocabulary words!) that the year has gone by so fast. It seems like just yesterday we were nervous eighth graders starting out at a new school. That means it is almost another year closer until college- when friendships are tested to the ultimate limits, unfortunately.

Wowie kazowie, how awesome is this webcam?

I have been wanting a webcam for quite some time, and this retro-looking one is awesome! At thirty-five dollars, it is not too expensive, either.

Anyway, I am going to play with Archie now before I go to the sleepover!

Farewell.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

