The Name Of My Chick And Wanting To Become A Vegetarian

The chicks arrived today, right on schedule! I would describe how excited this made me, but that would be positively impossible.

There are enough chicks for my siblings and I each to have two or three, but I only want one. One perfect little chicken is more than enough. My chick is so adorable. It is unbelievable, how adorable. Sorry for boring you with this ranting, but she is just so darn cute! I am even enclosing pictures so as to spread the cuteness around.

Is she not the most adorable ball of fluff in the world?

Speaking of her, I never even told you her name! It is a male name, I guess, but the nickname is unisex.

Her name is Archibald Barnaby Bartholomew van Buren (the ‘van Buren’ part if a tribute to my favorite president, Martin van Buren). Archie for short.

Now, for the real ranting part.

Apparently, if there are less than twenty-five chicks in an order at hatcheries (where chickens are hatched and sold and all), the employees may decide that the chicks will not be warm enough on the ride over to the post office. Because of this, they may decide that it would be beneficial to put some extra chicks in the box along with the ones you ordered.

Now, normally, I would not object to extra chicks. Actually, I still do not object to them. The thing is, though, the extra ones they give you are all male. And my mother does not like roosters very much. You know, because they are a lot more aggressive than hens. That is fine and dandy, but they gave us five male Rhode Island Reds with our order. Emphasis on the male. My mother claims there is no way we can have five extra roosters at our house in addition to the two we already have (we have one that is almost full-grown, Ezra, and we ordered one male chick as well). And she claims that we will either kill and eat them ourselves or give them to somebody else who would also kill and eat them.

And that is the reason I really hate (well, not hate, I do not hate anybody, but I am furious with her) my mother right now. Because she would have innocent chicks killed just because they may be a little aggressive. Words simply cannot express how angry I am at her right now. And that is the reason I wish I could become a vegetarian.

Now, I have sort of always been thinking about becoming a vegetarian. The thing is, though… actually, I have excuses but they are pretty much invalid. My only excuse (and a pitiful one at that) is that I do not like any vegetables (and believe me, I have tried a multitude of vegetables) and would have nothing to eat. However, that is invalid now, seeing as I could merely substitute all meats I would normally eat for fake meats. My brother does that, being a vegan, and there is normally a big stock of vegetarian burgers, hot dogs, chicken nuggets, etc. in our freezer. So, hmm, perhaps it would not be impossible. Maybe I will become a vegetarian.

Thanks for listening, anyway. I apologize if this was boring or did not make much sense.

The number of the day is nine, the holiday is Buy An Instrument Day, the color of the day is nonexistent (actually, it is pearl, but because he did not plan it ahead of time I find it pointless to count it as one) because Wallie forgot for the millionth time to find a color, and the word of the day is muckraker (one who spreads scandal against another).

Oh yeah, I got a ninety-five on my math quiz! Increase in overall Algebra II grade, here I come!

I am going to train Archie now. Farewell!

P.S. Once again, is Archie not tremendously adorable? I just cannot get over it…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

