Plastic Bag Yarn, Leftover Pizza, and Temporarily Knowing a Word That My Older Brother Does Not

That just about sums up my Friday evening thus far. Other than some reading time. And, you know, breathing and all of that jazz.

Plastic bag yarn portion- I have wanted to do this for a while, and I did so today. Actually, I still am doing it- I just stopped in order to write this post. Making yarn out of grocery store bags, that is. I have a nice-sized ball of plastic bag yarn already, and only three bags have been transformed. Ah, transformed, such a magnificent way to describe the meticulous task. I love to transform things, and will most likely be knitting this particular transformation into a bag. If it is strong enough, I will use it to carry books back and forth from the library.

Leftover pizza- this, too, is self-explanatory. My mother is out for a knitting night with her friends (which she does every Friday night) and my father did not feel like cooking anything special, so we just had leftovers. I had white pizza. Delicious white pizza, that is.

Temporarily knowing a word that my older brother does not- yeah, this is probably the most self-explanatory of the three. Essentially, I told my brother that one of the words of the day is hypnophobia and I asked him whether he knew what it meant. Naturally, being the cocky, stubborn college student he occasionally is, he said he did. After a lot of prying, I found out that he did not, in fact, know what it meant. He guessed for a bit, and finally I told him. I will tell you all what it means in a few moments, along with the other things of the day.

And here I am, as promised, telling you the things of the day. The words of the day are hypnophobia (as mentioned- it is a morbid fear of falling asleep) and gormless (lacking intelligence or vitality). The number of the day is ninety-four, the holidays are Love a Tree Day, National Bike To Work Day, National Sea Monkey Day, and Wear Purple For Peace Day. I actually saw quite a few people wearing purple today, but I do not think the majority were actually celebrating it. Perhaps my friend Laura was- she was wearing purple socks, but I did not think to ask. Speaking of Laura, her dad has been offered a job and she may be moving to Chicago. I really, really, hope that she does not end up moving. This would tear me to pieces. I am trying not to think about it and become even further upset… Anyway, the color of the day is aquamarine. Wallie was thrilled about this as, evidently, it is his birthstone. I was equally thrilled because it is a rather lovely color.

Today in English, we were reading a poem aloud. The last line was something like, “I shall love, until life renews,” or something of the sort. Well, the person started it and said, “I shall love,” when, suddenly, there was a sound at the window. Everybody looked over, and a bird was falling right past the window. Mr. Schoder just goes, “continue the poem,” in that monotonous voice of his, and the person finishes, “…until life renews.” And, suddenly, the noise is there again and we all turn to the window once more. A second bird is falling fact first down right by our classroom window. I have no idea what happened to them. It was funny, in a morbid sort of way.

My siblings are watching Toy Story. Oh, how I love Toy Story.

Hey, did you know that (according to the Completely Useless, Yet Interesting, Facts Collection), “An apple, onion, and potato all have the same taste. The differences in flavor are caused by their smell. To prove this – pinch your nose and take a bite from each. They will all taste sweet.” I will most definitely need to test this out.

Also according to the Completely Useless, Yet Interesting, Facts Collection, there are two million different combinations of sandwiches that can be made from the Subway menu. Now, that is very interesting. Think of all of the possibilities! Oh, wait, you can not comprehend the idea of two million different sandwiches. Neither can I.

Now, I am off to finish making plastic bag yarn- there are many more bags and I would like to make a lot of it to start off with.

Good night, friends. Farewell, friends. Be merry, friends. And otherwise.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

