Finding A Few Amazing Websites, My Love of Words, and Books (all intertwined)

My blisters from doing the Rower in Gym finally went away yesterday. Unfortunately, we did it again today and I have fresh ones.

I believe we are going out to dinner tonight.

The word of the day is brouhaha, meaning an uproar or hubbub. The color of the day is a shade of brown, zinnwaldite, that ‘beige’ color of old telephones.

The holidays are Iris Day, No Socks Day, V-E Day (Victory in Europe Day), and World Red Cross/ World Red Crescent Day.

I finished reading a book called Get A Hobby, which I checked out because I have no hobbies other than reading, writing, going on the computer, and occasionally knitting. I found a few ideas that I may incorporate into my life, such as balloon twisting (balloon animal-making), ant farming, and knotting, all three of which I have always been interested in but never gotten around to acting upon. Right now I am reading up on how to make an ant farm.

The number of the day is nine hundred thirty-three.

Guess what? Today is Harry S. Truman’s one hundred twenty-fourth birthday! According to Wikipedia, Harry was a, “folksy, unassuming president,” who, “popularized such phrases as “the buck stops here” and, “if you can’t stand the heat, you better get out of the kitchen.” His three main interests were reading, music, and history. Sounds like a pretty amazing guy, if you ask me.

Besides Get a Hobby!, I also started and finished reading My Secret: A PostSecret and am far along in Thirteen: The History of the World’s Most Popular Superstition.

Hey, have you ever heard of the obscure instrument called a ‘klaxophone?’ According to Wikipedia, The Klaxophone is an instrument created by the American composer Henry Fillmore. Made up of twelve car horns, it was created for use in his Klaxon March…this piece featured the instrument mounted on a table and powered by a car battery.” A strange and wonderful place the world is.

Oh my goodness, while searching for information on klaxophones I came across a phantasmagorical website called Wordie, at http://wordie.org/. It is made up of lists of words and phrases, two of my favorite things! I am most definitely going to be spending a lot of time on this site in the near future.

Oh yeah, in English today we had a substitute and got to watch Star Wars: A New Hope! It is the first one made and I loved every minute of it that we have watched so far (we did not finish and hopefully will tomorrow, after the A Separate Peace test).

We received new pictures of the puppies we will have to choose from.  We are getting one in about three weeks.  Here is one of the photos below:

My favorite would definitely be the dark one in the back on the right side.  It has the best eyes.

For the second time, oh my goodness! I just had a sudden burst of happiness over my adoration of words and books. I love thee, fair words.

Wow, look at this site: http://ffffound.com/ about amazing pictures.

Random word: spookily. How fun it is to say and use!

And now, with amidst much of a brouhaha, I bid thee farewell. May you grow old surrounded by piles of words.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

