Would you like a pizza pie-o for Cinco De Mayo? Well, that is too bad. We are having spaghetti for dinner whether you like it or not.

The word of the day is ‘gambit,’ meaning a trick or gimmick or the act of tricking somebody. Today was my first day of attempting to refrain from using contractions in everyday speech. I failed miserably. For at least a few days or so, I am going to have to think about everything before I say it in order to make sure I do not use any.

The holidays are Cinco De Mayo, National Hoagie Day, and Oyster Day. What fun.

The number of the day is twenty-two and the color of the day is Prussian blue.

I finished the biography titled Abraham Lincoln and started on a book called Sickened, a memoir of Julie Gregory, who suffered with MBPS during her childhood and teenage years. Proxy, as it is sometimes shortened to, is a mental disorder in which a primary caretaker, most often a mother, who purposely causes illness in her child in order to receive attention from doctors and nurses.

I am not very far in this book, but am already horrified by the events that took place during Julie Gregory’s childhood. I feel very lucky for myself, reading it, of how unlike Julie’s mother my own is. Just as the title suggests, this book is indeed sickening.

I saw somebody with a Shakespeare Hates Emo Poems shirt from Threadless today. I have sort of become obsessed with scoping out Threadless wearers. If I were one hundred twenty times more outgoing and if he had not been talking to a group of his friends, I may have said something to him. Like, you know, “Threadless shirt, eh?” and given him the thumbs-up sign. But, alas, I am not and therefore did not do so. Perhaps in another life.

Yum, lemon poppyseed cupcakes. My sister made some and I am going to convince her to allow me to eat one once I finish this.

In English we are going to start on a short story project. Hooray, something that could actually be fun! It is supposed to be four pages, double spaces, size eleven or twelve in Times New Roman. I have no ideas yet. What I usually do when I am writing is just sit down at the keyboard and wing it.

Also in English- we are having a vocabulary quiz on Wednesday! Hooray, I love vocabulary quizzes.

“My, the wonders of the world. How wonderful they are.”

“Someday I wish they would find Waldo already and give the Trix rabbit his cereal.”

“I never meant to, I just lost track of time and never found it.”

Groucho Marx quotes, because he is awesome:

“I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book.”

“I must confess, I was born at a very early age.”

“I once shot an elephant in my pajamas. How he got in my pajamas, I’ll never know.”

So there you have it, folks, the post of the day and the only one that will ever be posted by me on May fifth, 2008.

P.S. Apparently, we are having spaghetti for dinner.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

