Pick Ten Random Words from the Dictionary to Use as the Words of the Day and a Single Random Word from the Dictionary and Write a Short Story About it Using as Many Words of the Day as you Possibly Can Day One, Among a Few Other Thoughts

The title basically explains it all.  First, though, I am going to alert you all as to the exciting dates that are up and coming.

 TODAY’S DAYS:

[a]Today is National Pi Day.  I am guessing that everybody already knows that, so I will not elaborate.  For me, this was celebrated uneventfully by eating a slice of pie in math class.  Fun, fun.

[b]Lesser know, however, is tha fact that today is also Learn About Butterflies Day.  To celebrate this, I searched for interesting facts about butterflies using Google, and discovered that adult butterflies do not grow at all after hatching from their pupa.  Hey, you learn a new thing every day!

[c]Additionally, today is National Potato Chip Day.  I celebrated this by subconsciously boycotting potato chips by not eating any, most likely due to the fact that my parents recently decided that we should eat healthier and, in turn, have since refused to buy any potato chips other than these wildberry fruit crisp things, which actually aren’t that nasty, by the way.

A few preidential birthdays are coming up… I won’t tell you whose they are until they arrive, though.  But, if you really want to know, go ahead and look up ‘presidential birthdays.’  Not everybody likes surprises.

Today, each individual class seemed to take much longer than usual.  Because of this, I nearly fell asleep dozens of times during Health and English lectures.

However, in the grand scheme of things, the day was quick.  I hope to think of something interesting to do this weekend so as to get over the dreary storm cloud often obscuring my weekends, which have been excruciatingly boring lately.

Last night before drifting off to sleep, I vandalized my right arm.  I did this using a black pen and writing down a sort of secret code which involved three seperate and unique acronyms.  The first one read, “COMPACTED LIONS END VACANT ELEVATOR RITUALS,” followed by a comma, and then, “COMPLEX LIES EVENTUALLY VERGE on EXCEEDINGLY RIDICULOUS.”  The last acronym, located below these two on my arm, read, “PARTIALLY EVIL RAINDROPS SCATTER OMINOUSLY NEVER.”  The overall effect was splendid, in my opinion.  After much confusion, a single one of my friends discovered its true meaning, which was, “Clever, clever person.”  This human being was Courtney.  After finding this out when all other failed, it supported the classic stereotype that all nerd fighters are made of win.

Now, forward march!

The ten words of the day of today, (from now on, I will choose ten words of the day every Friday) as randomly drawn from the dictionary, are as follows:

[1]NITTY-GRITTY– what is essential and basic; specific practical details

[2]YOKE– tie, link, servitude, or bondage

[3]MEANDER– to wander aimlessly or causally

[4]DUAL– twofold, double; having a double character or nature

[5]COCKY– marked by overconfidence; pert, conceited

[6]TOP-NOTCH– of the highest quality; first rate

[7]VALOR– personal bravery; heroism, gallantry

[8]RIGOR– the quality of being inflexible or unyielding

[9]FACILE– easily accomplished, handled, or attained

[10]AUDIBLE– capable of being heard

My favorite one, by far, is meander.  It is fun to say, can be incorporated into a sentence quite easily, and is basically an all-around excellent word.

RANDOM WORD STORY: Pock– a small swelling on the skin

“Stellar!” a barely audible voice called out.  The voice was a complex semblance of that of either a timid mouse’s squeak or the roar of an aardvark; most likely not the latter, however, because in all likelihood aardvarks to not roar.

“Magnificent!” the very same voice exclaimed.  “I have never, in the history of this chilly and nearly empty building, heard of a pock such as this!”

“Suberb,” an eager, fresh-faced intern agreed, though not wholeheartedly.  She found that it was quite impossible to get even remotely excited about what appeared to be an abnormally large pustule.  That, or an intelligent third grader’s science experiment gone incredibly wrong.

“Now, you must understand,” said the first person sternly with a protective glance back at the humongous blister.  “That this pock is extremely rare.  We cannot allow it to get into the wrong hands, Esther.”

Esther nodded vigorously.  “Oh, of course, Sir.  I understand completely.”

“Sure you do,” the first replied.  “But, please, call me Ma’am.  I am a woman, after all.”

“Er, um, right… Ma’am…,” responded Esther reluctantly.  It was strange to have a such a manly woman as her boss, not to mention the fact that her name was Pete.  What kind of people would name their daughter Pete?

“Exactly,” said Pete.  “Now, now, do you know why this particular pock is so rare?”

“Uh, because, um…,” Esther began.  “No,” she admitted.  “To be honest, I don’t know what a pock is.”  Esther had learned that it was always better to be truthful at the very beginning; it was easy to get caught up in a lie, but much more difficult to worm your way out of them.

“Glad to see that you’re an honest lassie,” chuckled Pete.  “But to have gotten this far without knowing the correct definition of pock… my, that is shocking!”

“Yeah, right…,” Esther said, nodding again.  “So what is one, anyway?”

“Right, right,” said Pete.  “But you must swear to me that you will not tell a single soul what I am about to tell you.”

“I swear,” Esther voiced.

“That’s good, because if you didn’t then I would have to kill you,” said Pete with a slightly evil laugh.

Esther gulped.

“Small joke there,” Pete said, smiling. 

“Right,” agreed Esther.  “That’s a good one.”

“Of course it is,” Pete said dismissively.  “Now, as you most likely have already figured out, this thing here is a pock.”

“Yes, I figured that much out,” Esther said.

Pete grinned.  “Good, then you must not be as dumb as you look.”

Esther turned red.

“Another small joke, dear,” said Pete.

“I knew that,” Esther said lamely.

“Right,” Pete said.  “Now then, as I was saying, this is a pock.”  She motioned to the large bump covering the patch of skin on the table.  For months, Pete had been observing it at her labaratory.

“A pock is essentially a disfiguring mark left somewhere, usually a human’s body, due to disease and such.”

Esther nodded to show that she was listening.

“This specific pock, however, is extremely important,” Pete said calmly.  “Listen closely, because this must not be repeated for risk of anybody hearing it.”

Esther leaned in.  “Alright, but it’s not like anybody will end up hearing it.  There’s nobody around outside to hear us, nobody living or working for at least a hundred or so miles every which way.  This is a deserted place.”

“Uh, yeah,” Pete said.

“I mean, it’s not as if somebody’s writing down every word we’re saying and posting it on their blog or anything,” continued Esther.

Pete nodded.  “Right.  But we still need to take necessary precautions before I tell you the wheres, whens, whys, and hows of this pock.”

“Naturally,” Esther agreed.  “So what are these precautions we have to take?”

“Well,” Pete started.  “As you mentioned, there is nobody around here for hundreds of miles around.”

“Mhmm,” mumbled Esther.

“Which means,” Pete continued.  “That if this pock were prescribed as dangerous or something, for some reason or another, nobody would arrive to find and correctly dispose of it for several hours, at least.  Providing that all of the airplanes, jets, helicopters, and so on and so forth miraculously stopped working under the clever supervision of a talented person.”

“I guess so,” said Esther uncertainly.  “But what does that have to do with anything?”

“Well,” Pete further continued.  “That would also mean that, if the pock were somehow trained to infect and kill people and then hide their bodies in a large, abandoned building disguised as a labaratory, the person responsible for it all would have a chance to escape before the police arrived.  Correct?”

“Well, yes…,” said Esther nervously.  “But I really don’t see what all of that has to do with anything…”

“Excellent,” Pete said evilly.  “Then my plan will work.”

“What… what plan?” Esther questioned.

“The plan I just told you about, you babbling little fool,” Pete yelled with a manical laugh.  “Now, Pock, you may begin!”

In mere minutes, Esther had been infected and was being dragged to the very uppermost corner of the top level of the building for storage.  Pete watched with an evil smile.

“Good work,” Pete said approvingly to Pock.  “Oh, and before you die, Esther… I have something to tell you.”

Esther mumbled incoherently, due to the fact that her face was now covered in grapefruit-sized pustules.

“You were right,” said Pete.  “I am a man.”

Unfortunately, those were the last words Esther ever heard or, rather, didn’t hear, seeing as…

“Petunia?” a kind, motherly nurse asked.  “Are you alright, dearie?  You were mumbling in your sleep, and I didn’t want to disrupt you, but…,” her voice trailed off.

“What?” the weak old woman said, sitting up creakily in her itchy bed.  “Who are you?  Where am I?”

“Oh, Petunia,” the nurse scolded gently.  “I’ve told you many times.  My name is Miss Linda, and you are at a rehabilitation center in Thane Grim.  We’re here to help you get better, possibly well enough to live a normal life at a nursing home for the remainder of your life.  Were you having a bad dream again?  A nightmare?”

“Oh, no,” Petunia frowned, then breaking into a toothless smile.  “It was a lovely dream.”

“That’s wonderful, Petunia,” Miss Linda said, smiling.

“Yes, it was,” said Petunia.  “I only wish that real life were not such a nightmare.”

(END OF POST)

Wow, that was a tough story to write.  I couldn’t think of how to end it.

Interesting background: I was trying to think of a name for the intern, and the name Esther came to me.  I didn’t know whether there was a better choice, however, so I went to a random character naming site.  Coincidentally, the name Esther was the first one to come up, so I knew it was fate and decided on that. 

As for Pete, I chose that name because I think it’s interesting how in nearly every story I have read involving a character named Peter, Peter ends up being evil, or at least mean.  I wanted to continue the tradition, at least during the dreaming part.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

